Josh Lalor’s catch to dismiss Cameron White Out or Not?

The catches near the boundary rope are breathtaking, especially when the fielders have found a way to keep the ball in the playing field by throwing it in the air (when off-balance), then jump outside the playing arena and hopping oneself back into the field of play to latch onto the ball to complete a catch.

However, Josh Lalor’s catch to dismiss Cameron White during the Big Bash League on Saturday has generated a solid debate on Twitter regarding its legibility. The incident occurred during the Sydney Thunder vs Melbourne Stars game on Saturday at the Sydney Cricket Ground.

While the Melbourne Stars were cruising towards the win, needing 107 runs to win, their skipper Cameron White slogged one in the air in the direction of long-on. The ball looked good to cross the boundary rope for a six. But Josh Lalor delivered a lesson in ‘balancing on the boundary rope’, which the umpire thought was legal enough and gave White out.